If You’re Not From New Hampshire . . . .

A form change poem

(with thanks to David Bouchard, “If You’re Not From the Prairie . . . )

 

If you’re not from New Hampshire,

You don’t know the mud,

You do not know how big the puddles of mud are.

You can’t know my mud.

You do not know how fun it is

To get your feet stuck in the mud

Or to play in it.

How fun it is after a spring shower,

With your toes in the mud

That sucks up and doesn’t let go of your feet

And goes SMACK when you lift

Your foot out of the mud.

You can’t know how fun it is,

How many things you can do in a puddle!

If you’re not from New Hampshire,

You don’t know my mud.

I love it here!

 

 

One thought on “If You’re Not From New Hampshire . . . .

  1. I loved your poem very much. I’m not terribly fond of mud season, but I do like playing in it when I have boots on. I especially liked how you used onomatopoeia with “SMACK.” I can’t wait to read more of your poems.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *